Join for FREE | Take the Tour Lost Password?
[x]

deviantART

 

Fake Check for Prom Dress

Wed Oct 22, 2008, 11:32 AM
  • Listening to: "Its good to see you" by Pinback
  • Watching: Cooking shows on food network
  • Playing: "How to not get scammed by fake people"
  • Eating: Pumpkin Muffie from Panera
  • Drinking: Dr. Thunder/cheap knock-off of Dr. Pepper
So I tried to sell my prom dress using craigslist.org. I thought, that someone locally would get in contact with me and they could just give me cash for it and I wouldn't have to ship it out anywhere. Sounds good right? Well, everything I do in my life usually has a catch and this ws no different.....

A woman named Mary Cook contacted me and said she would love to buy the dress from me. I was very happy because she wanted my most expensive dress that I was selling for $150.

Then I found out she was from Illinios. It seemed kind of odd at the time to me, but she said she wanted to send a "shipper" to come pick it up from me. So, I figured that she was just some rich girl who could do that sort of thing when she really liked something.

The check came in yesterday and I thougth it was going to be for the amount of $150...becuase that is the price of the dress...but it was for $710 and a buisness check from LifePoint Hospitals Inc in TN and they have their bank in North Carolina at Wakovia Bank. My mom actually worked for LifePoint Hospitals once upon a time ago, and she did confirm that it was their bank. The check even had a water mark so it looked like the real thing.

When I recieved the check the woman told me to take my $150 out and send the rest of the money ($560) to her shipper through Wal-Mart...Alright, so, I'm not stupid and I knew something was deffinitely wrong with the check.

I told my bank about it this morning and they called Wakovia Bank. And I guess you can imagine what happened next....Yep, the check was a fake.

So I had to give them all the information I knew about the "Mrs. Mary Cook" whose e-mail is mmmrsmarycook@gmail.com, it is most likely a fake e-mail address and name since the first e-mail she wrote to me with was engelica.cook@yahoo.com. So, just a warning out there that if you are selling anything to a Mary Cook, Engelica Cook, or a Donna Bedwell (her shipper) don't cash the check they give you. It is a fake and you will be the one who has to pay all that money to your bank. Beware of anyone on craigslist that comes from Illinios, they should be shopping in a place closer to them.

Now, I didn't lose anything out of this. I still have my prom dress, it is still for sale, so I'm not really worried about anything. Just be careful about selling anything online to people.

Devious Comments

love 0 0 joy 0 0 wow 0 0 mad 0 0 sad 0 0 fear 0 0 neutral 0 0
:iconlawnknome20:
well at least you still have the dress. glad to see a post from you.. havent talked in a wile :(
:iconblazegrl:
Its good to hear from you again too! I know its been FOREVER! How have you been? What have you been up to since the last time we talked???

--
~*Blazegrl*~

"The joy is in knowing how much you want to share something and learning how to enjoy it alone. Alone is different from lonely."

"Non est ad astra mollis e terris via."--There is no easy way from the earth to the stars.
:icontliken:
Dang that's intense it is. :(

Sponsored By Ninja Assassin

Journal History

Site Map